People who are crazy enough to think they can change the world are the ones who do. -Apple
Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription to raagabox has been successful.

Atal Bihari Vajpayee

Atal Bihari Vajpayee (25 December 1924 – 16 August 2018) was an Indian politician, statesman and a poet who served three terms as the Prime Minister of India, first for a term of 13 days in 1996, then for a period of 13 months from 1998 to 1999, and finally, for a full term from 1999 to 2004. A member of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), he was the first Indian PM who was not a member of the Indian National Congress party to have served a full five-year term in office. Vajpayee won the Screen Award for Best Non-Film Lyrics for his album Nayi Disha in 2000. Nayi Disha, which was released in 1999, had lyrics by the late politician and vocals by ghazal maestro Jagjit Singh. Songs penned by him..... Dur Kahin Koi Rota Hai - Samvedna (Jagjit Singh) (2002) Ek Baras Beet Gaya - Samvedna (Jagjit Singh) (2002) Kadam Milaakar Chalna Hoga - Samvedna (Jagjit Singh) (2002) Yamuna Tat - Nayi Disha (Jagjit Singh) (1999) Jiwan Beet Chala - Samvedna (Jagjit Singh) (2002) Chaurahe Par - Samvedna (Jagjit Singh) (2002) Kya Khoya Kya Payaa - Samvedna (Jagjit Singh) (2002) Toote Hue - Nayi Disha (Jagjit Singh) (1999) Jeevan Ki Dor - Nayi Disha (Jagjit Singh) (1999) Than Gayee - Nayi Disha (Jagjit Singh) (1999) Honours In 2012, Vajpayee was ranked number 9 in Outlook India"s poll of the Greatest Indian. In August 2018, Naya Raipur was renamed as Atal Nagar. In October 2018, four Himalayan peaks near Gangotri glacier named after his name. Awards : 1992 - Padma Vibhushan 1993 - D. Lit. from Kanpur University 1994 - Lokmanya Tilak Award 1994 - Outstanding Parliamentarian Award 1994 - Bharat Ratna Pandit Govind Ballabh Pant Award 2015 - Bharat Ratna 2015 - Bangladesh Liberation War Honour, (Bangladesh Muktijuddho Sanmanona) Works : Vajpayee authored several works of both prose and poetry. Some of his major publications are listed below. In addition to these, various collections were made of his speeches, articles, and slogans. Prose : National Integration (1961) New Dimensions of India"s Foreign Policy (1979) Gathbandhan Ki Rajneeti Kucha Lekha, Kucha Bhashana (1996) Bindu-Bindu Vicara (1997) Decisive Days (1999) Sankalp-Kaal (1999) Vicara-Bindu (Hindi Edition, 2000) India"s Perspectives on ASEAN and the Asia-Pacific Region (2003) Na Dainyam Na Palayanam Nayi Chunauti : Naya Avasar Poetry : Kaidi Kaviraj Ki Kundaliya Amar Aag Hai (1994) Meri Ekyavan Kavitayen (1995). Some of these poems were set to music by Jagjit Singh for his album Samvedna. Kya Khoya Kya Paya: Atal Bihari Vajapeyi, Vyaktitva Aur Kavitaem (1999) Values, Vision & Verses of Vajpayee: India"s Man of Destiny (2001) Twenty-One Poems (2003) Chuni Hui Kavitayein (2012) An English translation of a selection of some of Vajpayee"s Hindi poetry was published in 2013.