People who are crazy enough to think they can change the world are the ones who do. -Apple
Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription to raagabox has been successful.

Mukhram Sharma

Mukhram Sharma (29 May 1909 – 25 April 2000) was an Indian film lyricist, script, and story writer. He is best known for winning the first Filmfare Award in the Best Story category in 1955 for the film Aulad. His notable works as story writer include Vachan (1955), Sadhna (1958), Talaq (1958) and Dhool Ka Phool (1959). He also produced films like Talaq (1958), Santaan, and Diwana (1967). Sharma was born in Poothi village of Uttar Pradesh, India on 29 May 1909. He studied Sanskrit and was brought up in Meerut. He worked as a Hindi and Sanskrit language teacher while continuing writing poetry and short stories for local magazines. Sharma took retirement from film writing after the release of Nauker (1979) and Sau Din Saas Ke (1980) and moved to Meeru. Films : Aulad (1954) Vachan (1955) Ek Hi Rasta (1956) Sadhna (1958) Talaq (1959) Dhool Ka Phool (1960) Gharana (1961) Grahasti (1963) Pyaar Kiya To Darna Kya (1963) Daadi Maa (1966) Raja Aur Runk (1968) Do Kaliyaan (1968) Jeene Ki Raah (1969) Nauker (1979) Sau Din Saas Ke (1980) Awards : 1955 - Filmfare Award for Best Story - Aulad 1956 - Filmfare Award for Best Story - Vachan 1959 - Filmfare Award for Best Film - Talaq (along with Mahesh Kaul) (Nominated) 1959 - Filmfare Award for Best Story - Sadhna 1959 - Filmfare Award for Best Story - Talaq (Nominated) 1960 - Filmfare Award for Best Story - Dhool Ka Phool (Nominated) 1961 - Sangeet Natak Akademi Award — Films (Screenplay) 2000 - Zee Cine Award for Lifetime Achievement